PHILIPPINE JOURNAL OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

THE PHILIPPINE JOURNAL OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION (*PJPA*) is the official journal of the National College of Public Administration and Governance, University of the Philippines Diliman. It is published annually in partnership with the Philippine Society for Public Administration, and the Association of Schools of Public Administration in the Philippines, Inc. The *PJPA* was awarded the Journal Incubation Grant from 2017 to 2019 by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) under its Journal Incentive Program (CHED Memorandum Order 53, s. 2016). It was granted Journal Accreditation - Category B from 2010 to 2012 through CHED's Journal Accreditation Service (CHED Memorandum Order 13, s. 2009).

EDITORIAL BOARD

Kristoffer B. Berse, UP National College of Public Administration and Governance Rizalino B. Cruz, UP-NCPAG Ronald U. Mendoza, Ateneo School of Government Eduardo Araral, National University of Singapore Michael A. Tumanut, UP-NCPAG Danilo R. Reyes, Philippine Society for Public Administration Ma. Oliva Z. Domingo, Kalayaan College

EDITORIAL TEAM

Editor: Michael A. Tumanut, UP-NCPAG Guest Editors: Helen K. Liu, National Taiwan University Akio Kamiko, Ritsumeikan University Managing Editor: Eula Marie D. Mangaoang Copy Editors: Jayson D. Fajarda, Vincent Q. Silarde Layout Artist: Christine Ann E. Avila Circulation Officer: Ehmjie Roscely T. Celestial Editorial Assistant: Maria Cristina N. Aguinaldo

INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY BOARD

Belinda A. Aquino, PhD University of Hawaii at Manoa

Joaquin Gonzalez III, PhD Golden Gate University

Mampei Hayashi, PhD Kansai University of International Studies

Akio Kamiko, PhD Ritsumeikan University

Masao Kikuchi, PhD Meiji University

Pan Suk Kim, PhD Yonsei University

Raul Lejano, PhD New York University

Helen K. Liu, PhD National Taiwan University Fumio Nagai, PhD Osaka City University

Akira Nakamura, PhD Meiji University

Rosemary O' Leary, PhD The University of Kansas

Eko Prasojo, PhD University of Indonesia

Jon S. T. Quah, PhD Singapore

Trevor Seymour-Jones, PhD University of Technology Sydney

Achakorn Wongpreedee, PhD National Institute of Development Administration